Vincent B Hfq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Information power motor maximum

I own a 1977 Mako boat that has never been modified. I would like to have the notice that indicates the maximum power (Kw) authorized for this boat. Thank you.

View full review

Preferred solution: Information on maximum power of motors in Kw

Lance V Llg
map-marker Livonia, Michigan

Engine won't turn over. No electricity

No electricity to the engine. Cant start it Changed the battery and everything is powered except the engine.

View full review

Preferred solution: Help with getting the engine started

User's recommendation: Don’t know

Marquese Dfr
map-marker Show Low, Arizona

Bass pro dominates the customer service/complaints path and makes it nearly impossible to get warranty or technical questions answered by Mako.

Deck scuppers (drains) cant keep up with the wash down pump causing water to build up on the deck when washing down.

View full review
nick m Bed

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Palm Harbor, Florida

Customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Trying to get the warranty transferred to 2nd owner. Customer Service is useless phone never answered e-mails never responded to , their dealers can't even get help from them.

View full review

Preferred solution: customer service response

User's recommendation: if your thinking you are going to get help from them ,think twice

Anonymous
map-marker Deltona, Florida

Horrible Customer Service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I've experienced horrible customer service and haven't even made it to a dealer to look at a Mako boat. While doing research on my next boat Mako Pro Skiff was high on my list.

I was looking for thing- how shallow would the specific model I was interested in run with the set up I wanted. I spoke with 3 different people within the Mako organization and 3 different dealers and not one of them could give me an answer.

Can't imagine actually buying a boat from this place. Serious joke.

View full review

User's recommendation: Do yourself a favor and don't consider Mako.

Jeff h Eks

Want to buy a boat

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Never heard of this. A company that makes boats, won't sell me a boat?

They don't make trailers, and they don't make motors they make boats, but they will not sell me a boat without the trailer and the motor. Which I already have, I offered to come to the factory, nope we don't do that, go figure.

View full review
Pros:
  • Owning a boat
Cons:
  • Will not sell me a boat

Preferred solution: Sell me a boat

User's recommendation: I hope you like Mercury outboards

Gilbert P Lcb

Mako products should be in stock in all Bass Pro Shops

I bought a 17 ft. Pro skiff on 2/28/20, for two weeks now I have been waiting for the rear curtain for the skiff.

The boat is still at the shop in Miami waiting for the parts that I ordered. I live in key largo fl. I live to far to be going back and forth just to get the parts on the boat that's why the boat is there.

These curtains are on display on the boats so why aren't they in stock at the store. Why is it so hard to get this part.

View full review

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Put product in stock at all Bass pro shops

Anonymous
map-marker Orlando, Florida

Boat care

Bought an older mako boat. Cant find an article on proper boat care and protectants.

You guys forwarded me to bass pro shop, who forwarded me to a service shop, who told me they don't detail boats. SO...

still looking for this info. thx!

View full review
Frank C Mjn
map-marker Gastonia, North Carolina

Gel Coat cracking on back deck of my 21ft cc mako sciff, bought new in 2018.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Bought our Mako 21ft cc skiff from Bass Pro Shop in Concord N C on 7-21-17. It came from factory as a 2018 model.

Early spring 2018 had to have warranty work on front deck were silicon was applied had cracks all the way across the floor where deck and floor meet,,,took BPS 4 months to fix. Now on top of back deck in 3 places there are spider cracks and on corner behind fuel cap deck is week where cracks are. They had it for a month and want to patch the cracks instead of replacing the deck.

We've had the boat 15 months and they've had it 5 months of that 15. I'm not a happy Mako boat owner.

View full review
Loss:
$42000
Pros:
  • Love the boat
  • Performs well
Cons:
  • Cracks on deck
Reason of review:
Bad quality

Preferred solution: Talk with Mako rep

Anonymous
map-marker Tampa, Florida

Gel coat and foam, poor craftsmanship.

We’ve had our boat for two months (2019 17’ skiff) and already have to send it back to Mako as the gel coat is spidering, and has *** in it. Sadly, that wasn’t the original issue. Previous to noticing the gel coat we noticed the foam under the outer layer of the boat has gaps and holes in it.

The poor craftsmanship where the cleats were installed is very noticeable as well.

Currently we’re without our brand new boat but paying payments on it, and are not happy at all.

I have a video and if I hear back from you will gladly send it.

View full review
1 comment
Guest

I've heard that there are two happy days in the life of a boat owner - the day you take delivery and the day it rides away hooked to somebody else's truck .... exactly like our in ground pool - happy day number 1, splish splash, happy day number 2, the backhoe arrives to fill it in.

Resolved
Jack N Jxr

Resolved: 21LTS MAKO

Mako Boats - 21LTS MAKO
Mako Boats - 21LTS MAKO - Image 2
Updated by user Jul 24, 2018

The Manufacture honored my Warranty when it was reviewed by the right person(s) and I was give a new Boat Hull. They are Honorable and a stand up company. I have been a long time customer and will continue to be one!

Original review Jun 24, 2018
I bought a MAKO 21 LTS from Bass Pro Fort Worth TX on May 17th 2014. I have used the boat only on tournaments 7 of them a year and boat is now 4 years old.

Last April boat was taking on water and bulge pump was working overtime pumping out water. When looked at on shore it showed big area of gel coat and showing approx. 18"X18" two places of fiberglass and other cracks in the hull. Took it back to Bass Pro and they sent it back to the manufacture.

They sent it back saying it was my fault as it had scratches and gouge in the center of the hull. No way could this happen in any situation, as someone with little experience can see this is Tracker Marine/MAKO issue, period....Warranty should have covered this as it was not from anything I done, its just bad fabrication, Delamination!!!! The manager and staff at the Bass pro could not believe that the hull was not replaced and were sorry but they could not do anything. I since have taken it to a Fiberglass Boat repair company and they have agreed with me and the Bass Pro dealer that it is and was a manufactured defect, bad workmanship.

I have experience in this area of fiberglass, A Inspector for A aircraft Mfg. for over 20+ years and have certifications in this process.

This is the worst experience I have had with any company that is suppose to have the best warranty for a boat hull in the business, but they just give you the business and do not honor anything they say or have in righting!!! Will not so business with this company or subsidiaries.
View full review
Loss:
$10000
Reason of review:
Warranty issue

Preferred solution: new hull

1 comment
Guest

I did get my warranty accepted and am very pleased with the results, as it was just one person that that reviewed my claim and had no idea of what they were looking at. I am pleased with my Mako and tracker marine and will continue to do business as I always have, they are great!

Doyle B Itg
map-marker Falmouth, Massachusetts

Livewell fiasco

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

2018 Mako 214 CC I ordered the optional livewell, the only way to fill or drain it is by getting down into a maintenance hatch and turning a t handle valve on the drain line which is blocked by the tight quarters. When it fills the overflow can't keep up so naturally if you don't shut the pump off (no timer) it overflows.

The supply from the pump was put into the BOTTOM of the tank even though there's a spot for it on the top side opposite the worthless overflow.

After contacting the dealer I was told they would make I right? That was 4 months ago I brought it to the maintenance supervisor to check a month ago and haven't had any of my follow up calls returned since

View full review
Duffy Jod
map-marker Marrero, Louisiana

Not good

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

The boat has drill bit marks on boat from when rivets were put in for trim around boat also live well leaks in top corner causing driver to get wet and i noticed small cracks on front deck i only had boat a month and was told it's from stress i only took it out 3 times Wtf

View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Anonymous
map-marker Portage, Indiana

Beware Tracker Marine

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I purchased a new 2010 Mako 18 LTS in April 2012.

There have been 2 recalls – for the trailer and the center console, andevery year the rivets pull through the joint holding the deck and the hull together and need to be replaced.

The first recall came when Tracker realized the weight of the boat was too much for the trailer. Tracker’s recall fix was to manufacture a new axle, install brakes and larger capacity tires. My boat was at the shop for 4 months while they did this.

The second recall was for the center console. The letter said it could come off causing injury or death. Their fix was to add 8 bolts. Six bolts were glued into place because there are no aluminum backers in the floor where they were added. The other 2 bolts were added by drilling holes and tapping into the floor where there were aluminum backers. They also smeared 5200 adhesive sealant on the joint where the console and floor meet.

Every year rivets pull through the joint holding the deck and the hull together and have to be replaced. This year, when I took it in again to replace the rivets, they told me that unless I signed away the limited lifetime warranty on the hull, they would not repair the boat. When I refused to sign their letter, they told me to take my boat out of their shop and get a lawyer.

These were the worse of a long list of problems with this boat. It is poor built and Tracker does not honor its warranty or value its customers.

View full review
Loss:
$17000
Reason of review:
Bad quality
4 comments
Guest

The decks are actually riveted and bolted on the pro skiffs and they constantly come loose

Guest

I do not understand this review. Mako boats are fiberglass, Tracker AKA Bass Pro Shops are aluminum. A 2015 Mako 18 Lts Inshore Boat has no rivets lol.

Guest

I have a 2014 Mako 21LTS and have had several issues. I purchased in Grapevine Texas and the staff was super nice during the "buying stage" but horrible service when the boat needed attention.

Stay far away from these folks.

1. The Custom Aluminum trailer is horrible. The bow stop literally bent over and broke two different welds meaning my boat could no longer be trailered. I had to rent a wet slip while I took the trailer back to Bass Pro Shop.

Their response "Sorry, the trailer shop we used to build these trailers filed chapter 11 and there are no longer parts available". What the ***?? Just over a year old and there's no parts? Unreal.

2.

Gauges have fallen out of the center console dash. I basically had to use marine adhesive to "rig" them back up the best I could.

3. Four rocker switches went out at the same time causing other electrical issues. Bass Pro - "Wow, never seen that before."

4.

Several lockable latches have failed within the first year of the boat.

5. The boat's overall quality is poor to say the least. Every other time I get in the boat, something else fails.

And I baby this thing!! There must be better options out there.

Look for a different boat and stay clear of Bass Pro Shop boats. Disappointed

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1176450

I concur! 2011 18'LTS purchased in San Antonio new.

For a company in business for 40+ years Mako is a poorly built boat. Wished I would have gone with a different maker.

View more comments (3)
Anonymous
map-marker Atlanta, Georgia

2011 Mako 2201 Inshore Review

I have a 2011 Mako 2201. Kept on getting delamination.

Took it to my fiberglass guy. He took the cap off the boat and found non of the stringers were fiberglassed to the hull.

This boat was made poorly and will cost me a pretty penny to get right. I will never buy another Tracker Marine boat and will advise everyone I know to do the same.

View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Anonymous
map-marker Houston, Texas

Mako Boats Review

Boat will not track strait at the least power it becomes uncontrollable it has done this since it was purchased no solution has been found.

View full review
Reason of review:
Damaged or defective

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article